# Free museum days in San Francisco

- Page: https://projectsf.com/data/sf-free-museum-days/
- Publisher: Project SF (https://projectsf.com/)
- License: CC BY 4.0 (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/) - credit "Project SF" and link the page
- Data as of: 2026-10-01
- Refreshed: monthly (1st)
- Covers: 2026
- CSV: https://projectsf.com/wp-content/uploads/2026/10/projectsf-sf-free-museum-days-2026-10-01.csv
- JSON: https://projectsf.com/data/sf-free-museum-days.json
- Markdown (this file): https://projectsf.com/data/sf-free-museum-days.md
- Catalog: https://projectsf.com/data/ (index: https://projectsf.com/data/index.md)
- Citation: Project SF (2026). Free museum days in San Francisco. Updated 1 October 2026. https://projectsf.com/data/sf-free-museum-days/

## About

Recurring free days, always-free venues, EBT/Medi-Cal and resident discounts for San Francisco museums and attractions, as published on each venue's website.

## Columns

- venue
- free_day_as_published
- who
- reservation
- ebt_medi_cal_discount
- library_pass
- adult_price_as_published
- source_url
- check_date

## Data (40 rows)

| venue | free_day_as_published | who | reservation | ebt_medi_cal_discount | library_pass | adult_price_as_published | source_url | check_date |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Cable Car Museum | Always free | everyone | no | not stated | not stated | Free | https://www.cablecarmuseum.org/info.html | 2026-10-01 |
| Fort Point National Historic Site | Always free | everyone | no | not stated | not stated | Free | https://www.nps.gov/fopo/planyourvisit/fees.htm | 2026-10-01 |
| Museum of Performance + Design | Always free |  | yes for First Saturday hours ('*Reservations in advance are required'); not stated for Wed/Thu exhibition hours | not stated | not stated | Free | https://www.mpdsf.org/visit | 2026-10-01 |
| Musée Mécanique | Always free | everyone | no | not stated | not stated | Free (machines are coin-operated) | https://museemecanique.com/visit | 2026-10-01 |
| Octagon House (Colonial Dames) | Always free |  | not stated | not stated | not stated | Free (donations appreciated) | https://nscda-ca.org/octagon-house/visiting-the-octagon-house-museum/ | 2026-09-18 |
| Randall Museum | Always free | everyone | no | not stated | not stated | Free | https://randallmuseum.org/faqs/ | 2026-10-01 |
| San Francisco Fire Department Museum | Always free |  | not stated | not stated | not stated | Free (donations appreciated) | https://guardiansofthecity.org/sffd/index.html | 2026-10-01 |
| SF Camerawork | Always free |  | not stated | not stated | not stated | Free | https://sfcamerawork.org/visit | 2026-10-01 |
| Asian Art Museum | First Sunday of each month | everyone | not required, but 'we highly recommend you reserve your tickets in advance' (limited walk-up) | yes (SF residents with EBT or MediCal) | yes (Discover and Go) | Adults $20; Ages 65 & up $17; Ages 13–17 and college students $14; Ages 12 & under Free; special exhibition +$10 | https://about.asianart.org/ticketing/free-and-reduced-museum-admission/ | 2026-10-01 |
| Conservatory of Flowers | First Tuesday of the month | everyone | not stated | yes (free for up to four with EBT) | not stated | not published (free for SF residents, veterans, Museums For All, members; non-resident price only inside date-picker) | https://gggp.org/tickets/ | 2026-10-01 |
| de Young Museum | First Tuesday of every month (general admission); also every Saturday for Bay Area residents | everyone (first Tuesday); Bay Area residents (Free Saturdays, nine counties) | no (booking in advance suggested) | yes | yes (Discover & Go) | Adults: $25; Seniors (65+): $22; Students: $10; Youth (17 and under): Free | https://www.famsf.org/visit/free-reduced-admission | 2026-10-01 |
| GLBT Historical Society Museum | First Wednesday of every month | everyone | no (no online reservations on free days; first-come, first-served) | yes (SNAP EBT and Medi-Cal: free + 3 guests) | not stated | General admission $10; Discounted $6 (youth 13–17, seniors 65+, students, teachers, military, people with disabilities); Children (12 and under) Free | https://www.glbthistory.org/museum-about-visitor-info | 2026-10-01 |
| Legion of Honor | First Tuesday of every month (general admission); also every Saturday for Bay Area residents | everyone (first Tuesday); Bay Area residents (Free Saturdays, nine counties) | no (booking in advance suggested) | yes | yes (Discover & Go) | Adults: $25; Seniors (65+): $22; Students: $10; Youth (17 and under): Free | https://www.famsf.org/visit/free-reduced-admission | 2026-10-01 |
| Museo Italo Americano | Thursdays; first Sunday of the month | everyone | not stated | not stated | not stated | $10 | https://sfmuseo.org/contact-us/ | 2026-10-01 |
| Museum of Craft and Design | First Thursday of every month (none in September 2026 due to installation) | everyone | no ('No tickets are needed, but visitors can RSVP') | yes (SF Museums for All: 4 free passes for Medi-Cal/CalFresh; EBT free) | not stated | General admission $10.00; Students $8.00; Seniors (65+) $8.00; Children (through age 12) Free | https://sfmcd.org/visit/ | 2026-10-01 |
| Museum of the African Diaspora (MoAD) | Second Saturday of each month (THRIVE @ MoAD Community Day) | everyone | not stated | yes (free entry for up to 4 per EBT card) | not stated | Adult Admission $15; Seniors, Students, Educators $7; Youth (under 12) FREE | https://www.moadsf.org/visit | 2026-10-01 |
| San Francisco Botanical Garden | Second Tuesday of every month; also daily 7:30–9am; Thanksgiving, Christmas, New Year's Day | everyone | not stated | yes (free for up to four with EBT) | not stated | not published (free for SF residents, veterans, Museums For All, members; non-resident price only inside date-picker) | https://gggp.org/visit/admissions-hours/ | 2026-10-01 |
| San Francisco Zoo & Gardens | Free days for SF residents on dates announced in the calendar (no fixed recurring day stated) | SF residents | not stated | yes (San Francisco Museums for All: $3 for SF residents with EBT/SNAP or Medi-Cal; $5 for non-resident EBT/SNAP) | yes (Discover & Go via SFPL) | Adult (12-64) $32.00 weekdays / $34.00 weekends & holidays; SF residents $29.00 / $31.00; Seniors $25/$27; Children (2-11) $22/$24; under 2 free | https://www.sfzoo.org/tickets-hours/ | 2026-10-01 |
| Yerba Buena Center for the Arts | Every Wednesday (galleries) | everyone | not stated | yes (free for Medi-Cal and EBT card holders) | not stated | Galleries: Adult (18+) $10; Students & Seniors $5; Youth (17 and under) Free; Wednesdays Free | https://ybca.org/visit/ | 2026-10-01 |
| 7D Ride Experience (PIER 39) | None stated |  | not stated | not stated | not stated | $15 per person; children 12 & under $13 | https://theflyer-sanfrancisco.com/7d-experience/ | 2026-10-01 |
| Alcatraz Island (NPS + Alcatraz City Cruises) | None stated | n/a | n/a | not stated | not stated | Day Tour: Adults 18+ $47.95; Youth 12-17 $47.95; Seniors 62+ $45.15; Children 5-11 $29.15; under 5 $0. Night Tour adults $59.65 | https://www.nps.gov/alca/planyourvisit/fees.htm | 2026-10-01 |
| Aquarium of the Bay | None stated | n/a | n/a | yes ($5 admission, up to four tickets, EBT/SNAP/Medi-Cal) | not stated | Adult (13-64): $28.25 (online $30.48 incl. 6% web fee; 'Peak pricing on various days'); Child (4-12) $20.25; Senior (65+) $24.25 | https://www.aquariumofthebay.org/tickets/ | 2026-10-01 |
| California Academy of Sciences | None stated | n/a | n/a | yes ($5 Daytime Admission for EBT cardholders, max four per group) | yes (Discover & Go, cardholders 14+) | Adult (19+): $49.00/$55.00 peak; Youth (13–18) $45.00/$49.00 peak; Child (3–12) $39.00/$45.00; Ages 2 and under Free; EBT cardholders $5 | https://www.calacademy.org/free-reduced-admission | 2026-10-01 |
| Children's Creativity Museum | None stated |  | not stated | yes | not stated | $20 for everyone age 1+ | https://creativity.org/hours-admission/ | 2026-10-01 |
| Chinese Culture Center of San Francisco | None stated |  | not stated | not stated | not stated | not published | https://www.cccsf.us/ | 2026-10-01 |
| Chinese Historical Society of America Museum | None stated | everyone (annual Bruce Lee day) | not stated | yes-equivalent: 'EBT and Medi-Cal holders receive $3 museum admission' (program name not used) | not stated | not published (FAQ: educators pay 'the same as the adult ticket price' but that price is not given; students/seniors/veterans $10; EBT/Medi-Cal $3) | https://chsa.org/faqs/ | 2026-10-01 |
| Coit Tower | None stated | n/a | n/a | not stated | not stated | Elevator: Adult $8 SF residents / $11 non-residents; Senior (62+) $5/$8; Youth (12-17) $5/$8; Child (5-11) $2/$3; 4 & under free. Ground-floor murals: no fee stated for entry; mural tours $10 / $5 | https://sfrecpark.org/facilities/facility/details/Coit-Tower-290 | 2026-10-01 |
| Exploratorium | None stated | n/a | n/a | yes ($5 admission with EBT/SNAP/CalFresh, Medi-Cal, WIC or Lifeline; on site only) | yes (Discover & Go) | Adults (18–64) $39.95; Youth (4–17), Seniors, People with Disabilities, Teachers, Students $29.95; Children (3 & under) Free | https://www.exploratorium.edu/visit/reduced-rates | 2026-10-01 |
| Grace Cathedral | None stated |  | not stated | not stated | not stated | $15 (Seniors 65+ $13; ages 12-22 $11; under 12 free) | https://gracecathedral.org/ | 2026-10-01 |
| Haas-Lilienthal House | None stated | n/a | n/a | not stated | not stated | General: $10; Children 12 & under: Free | https://www.haas-lilienthalhouse.org/house-tours | 2026-10-01 |
| Japanese Tea Garden | None stated | everyone | yes ('All visitors are required to reserve a time slot in advance') | yes (free for up to four with EBT) | not stated | not published (free for SF residents, veterans, Museums For All, members; non-resident price only inside date-picker) | https://gggp.org/tickets/ | 2026-10-01 |
| Magowan's Infinite Mirror Maze (PIER 39) | None stated |  | not stated | not stated | not stated | not published (site only quotes customers calling it 'the best $10'; booking widget shows no price before checkout) | https://www.magowansinfinitemirrormaze.com/ | 2026-10-01 |
| Mission Dolores (Old Mission museum) | None stated |  | not stated | not stated | not stated | not published (only a field-trip suggested donation: $10 per adult, $5 per student) | https://www.missiondolores.org/old-mission | 2026-10-01 |
| Ripley's Believe It or Not! San Francisco | None stated |  | not stated | not stated | not stated | $29.99 per person (Ripley's + Mirror Maze, the only ticket listed) | https://www.ripleys.com/attractions/ripleys-believe-it-or-not-san-francisco | 2026-10-01 |
| San Francisco Carousel (PIER 39) | None stated |  | not stated | not stated | not stated | not published (pier39.com shows only a '$' price-level icon) | https://www.sfcarousel.com/ | 2026-10-01 |
| SFMOMA | None stated | everyone (Community Days); up to two adults with a child 18 or younger (Family Days) | yes (Family Day tickets released two weeks in advance) | yes (SF residents with Medi-Cal/CalFresh/SNAP/EBT) | yes (Discover & Go) | Adult $30; Senior (65+) $25; Students $23; Age 18 and younger Free | https://www.sfmoma.org/free-days/ | 2026-10-01 |
| SS Jeremiah O'Brien | None stated | n/a | n/a | not stated | not stated | General Admission $20; Senior (62+) $15; Junior (5–12) $10; Children (4 & under) Free; Family $45 | https://ssjeremiahobrien.org/visit-us/ | 2026-10-01 |
| Tenderloin Museum | None stated |  | not stated | yes | not stated | $10; students & seniors $6; youth 13-21 $6; 12 & under free | https://www.tenderloinmuseum.org/ | 2026-10-01 |
| USS Pampanito | None stated | n/a | n/a | not stated | not stated | Adults $25 (14-61); Senior $20 (62+); Juniors $15 (5-13); Students $20; Family $65; Kids (4 and under) FREE | https://maritime.org/uss-pampanito/ | 2026-10-01 |
| Walt Disney Family Museum | None stated | n/a | n/a | yes (San Francisco Museums for All: SF residents with CalFresh/EBT/Medi-Cal, cardholder + three guests) | not stated | Adults $30; Seniors (65+) $20; Students $20; Youth (6–17) $15; Children (5 & under) FREE | https://www.waltdisney.org/visit/admission | 2026-10-01 |

## Update log

- 2026-10-01: Monthly re-check: 39 of 40 venues re-checked on their own sites; reservation notes added for the Japanese Tea Garden and the Museum of Performance + Design's First Saturday; no free days added or dropped.
- 2026-09-18: First published: 40 venues.
