Halloween 2026 Halloween in San Francisco with kids: free trick-or-treating, festivals and museum days → Día de los Muertos is Monday, Nov 2
Skip to main content
Skip to content
Submit an event

Getting Around San Francisco: Muni, Cable Cars, BART and Fares

Muni, cable car and BART fares in San Francisco from SFMTA and BART, the visitor passport prices and how to pay, with gaps marked.

A cable car at its turntable on a sunny day.
A cable car at a turntable.

Muni buses, Muni Metro and the cable cars all run on one fare system, and BART covers the longer hops. The 1-day visitor passport is $15, the 3-day $35 and the 7-day $47.

Fares below are what SFMTA and BART print today. SFMTA’s fare page gives no effective date, so check it before you travel.

Checked against SFMTA, BART and Clipper on 27 October 2026.

$2.85Adult single ride with Clipper or MuniMobile
$9One cable car ride, no transfers
$15 / $35 / $47Visitor passport: 1-day / 3-day / 7-day
120 minHow long a Muni single ride lets you transfer
Muni fares from SFMTA
Ticket Price What SFMTA says
Adult single ride (ages 19-64) $2.85 Pay with Clipper, MuniMobile or a credit or debit card. Good for 120 minutes of travel.
Adult single ride, cash $3.00 Cash on vehicles needs exact change. Also the Metro ticket machine price.
Cable car single ride $9.00 No transfers. $4.00 for seniors, disabled riders and Medicare cardholders before 7 a.m. or after 9 p.m. Children 4 and under ride free.
Visitor passport, 1-day $15.00 Unlimited Muni, Muni Metro, historic streetcars and cable cars.
Visitor passport, 3-day $35.00 Same coverage.
Visitor passport, 7-day $47.00 Same coverage.

How to Pay

Use a Clipper card, which SFMTA says works on all Bay Area transit systems including Muni, or the MuniMobile app, which you activate when you board. Passports come as a MuniMobile ticket, a paper passport or a Clipper product. SFMTA also notes that single ride passes will no longer be available on MuniMobile from September 1, 2026.

Cable Cars

There are three lines: Powell/Hyde, Powell/Mason and California. The two Powell lines start at Powell and Market and run toward the Fisherman’s Wharf area. The California line starts at California and Market and runs to Van Ness Avenue. You board at the turntables at the start or end of each route. SFMTA says prepaying is required at Powell and Market, Bay and Taylor, and Hyde and Beach streets from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. daily. The Cable Car Museum explains how they work, and the cable car history covers the 1873 start.

BART in the City

BART fares are based on distance, and there are no weekly or monthly passes. To enter on a regular Clipper card you need at least $2.55 on it. Four stations serve downtown, and each lists its Muni connections:

BART stations in San Francisco, per bart.gov
Station Address Connections BART lists
Embarcadero 298 Market Street Muni and the California Street cable car; close to the Ferry Building
Montgomery Street 598 Market Street Muni
Powell Street 899 Market Street Muni, Powell-Hyde and Powell-Mason cable cars
Civic Center/UN Plaza 1150 Market Street Muni and Golden Gate Transit

Riding With Kids or a Wheelchair

SFMTA describes Muni as accessible transportation for all ages and abilities, with wheelchair lifts on buses, a guide to accessible Muni Metro stops, an elevator status page, and paratransit van and taxi services. For strollers and kids, see Riding Muni, BART and the Cable Cars With Kids. For which mode suits which trip, read Muni vs BART vs Cable Car.

What We Could Not Confirm

  • SFMTA’s fare page does not state an effective date for these fares.
  • SFMTA’s pages we read do not give cable car operating hours, only the prepay window, and say nothing on cable car accessibility.
  • We did not read a Muni Metro or bus route overview; use SFMTA’s route maps.
  • BART’s page gives no dollar minimum fare and no fare effective date.
  • Clipper’s page does not state a card fee or loading steps, and ferry fares were not confirmed.

Questions People Ask

Is a visitor passport worth it?

That depends on your rides. A cable car ride alone is $9, and a 1-day passport covers cable cars, Muni and Metro for $15.

Can I pay with my phone?

SFMTA lists digital Clipper on a phone and the MuniMobile app. BART gates accept contactless cards, Google Pay and Apple Pay.

Do transfers work on cable cars?

No. SFMTA lists the $9 cable car ticket as no transfers.

Sources

  1. SFMTA, Muni fares: https://www.sfmta.com/getting-around/muni/fares (read 27 October 2026)
  2. SFMTA, Cable cars: https://www.sfmta.com/getting-around/muni/cable-cars (read 27 October 2026)
  3. SFMTA, Accessibility: https://www.sfmta.com/getting-around/accessibility (read 27 October 2026)
  4. BART, Tickets and fares: https://www.bart.gov/tickets (read 27 October 2026)
  5. BART, Powell Street station: https://www.bart.gov/stations/powl (read 27 October 2026)
  6. BART, Montgomery Street station: https://www.bart.gov/stations/mont (read 27 October 2026)
  7. BART, Civic Center/UN Plaza station: https://www.bart.gov/stations/civc (read 27 October 2026)
  8. Clipper: https://www.clippercard.com/ (read 27 October 2026)

Cite this page: Project SF, “Getting Around San Francisco: Muni, Cable Cars, BART and Fares”, projectsf.com/visit/getting-around/ (updated ).