Halloween 2026 Halloween in San Francisco with kids: free trick-or-treating, festivals and museum days → Día de los Muertos is Monday, Nov 2
Skip to main content
Skip to content
Submit an event

Free Museum Days in San Francisco: Every Free Day, Checked Against Each Museum’s Own Site

Regular Free Days

  • Asian Art Museum: First Sunday of each month (reservation: not required, but 'we highly recommend you reserve your tickets in advance' (limited walk-up))
  • Conservatory of Flowers: First Tuesday of the month
  • GLBT Historical Society Museum: First Wednesday of every month (reservation: no (no online reservations on free days; first-come, first-served))
  • Legion of Honor: First Tuesday of every month (general admission); also every Saturday for Bay Area residents (reservation: no (booking in advance suggested))
  • Museo Italo Americano: Thursdays; first Sunday of the month
  • Museum of Craft and Design: First Thursday of every month (none in September 2026 due to installation) (reservation: no ('No tickets are needed, but visitors can RSVP'))
  • Museum of the African Diaspora (MoAD): Second Saturday of each month (THRIVE @ MoAD Community Day)
  • San Francisco Botanical Garden: Second Tuesday of every month; also daily 7:30–9am; Thanksgiving, Christmas, New Year's Day
  • Yerba Buena Center for the Arts: Every Wednesday (galleries)
  • de Young Museum: First Tuesday of every month (general admission); also every Saturday for Bay Area residents (reservation: no (booking in advance suggested))

Always Free

  • Cable Car Museum
  • Fort Point National Historic Site
  • Randall Museum
  • SF Camerawork
  • Museum of Performance + Design
  • Octagon House (Colonial Dames)
  • Musée Mécanique
  • San Francisco Fire Department Museum

All Venues

Free days, discounts and the adult ticket price, each exactly as the venue publishes them. Click a heading to sort.

40 San Francisco museums and attractions
VenueFree day (as published)WhoReservationEBT / Medi-CalAdult price (as published)
Cable Car MuseumAlways freeeveryonenonot statedFree
Fort Point National Historic SiteAlways freeeveryonenonot statedFree
Museum of Performance + DesignAlways free—yes for First Saturday hours ('*Reservations in advance are required'); not stated for Wed/Thu exhibition hoursnot statedFree
Musée MécaniqueAlways freeeveryonenonot statedFree (machines are coin-operated)
Octagon House (Colonial Dames)Always free—not statednot statedFree (donations appreciated)
Randall MuseumAlways freeeveryonenonot statedFree
San Francisco Fire Department MuseumAlways free—not statednot statedFree (donations appreciated)
SF CameraworkAlways free—not statednot statedFree
Asian Art MuseumFirst Sunday of each montheveryonenot required, but 'we highly recommend you reserve your tickets in advance' (limited walk-up)yes (SF residents with EBT or MediCal)Adults $20; Ages 65 & up $17; Ages 13–17 and college students $14; Ages 12 & under Free; special exhibition +$10
Conservatory of FlowersFirst Tuesday of the montheveryonenot statedyes (free for up to four with EBT)not published (free for SF residents, veterans, Museums For All, members; non-resident price only inside date-picker)
de Young MuseumFirst Tuesday of every month (general admission); also every Saturday for Bay Area residentseveryone (first Tuesday); Bay Area residents (Free Saturdays, nine counties)no (booking in advance suggested)yesAdults: $25; Seniors (65+): $22; Students: $10; Youth (17 and under): Free
GLBT Historical Society MuseumFirst Wednesday of every montheveryoneno (no online reservations on free days; first-come, first-served)yes (SNAP EBT and Medi-Cal: free + 3 guests)General admission $10; Discounted $6 (youth 13–17, seniors 65+, students, teachers, military, people with disabilities); Children (12 and under) Free
Legion of HonorFirst Tuesday of every month (general admission); also every Saturday for Bay Area residentseveryone (first Tuesday); Bay Area residents (Free Saturdays, nine counties)no (booking in advance suggested)yesAdults: $25; Seniors (65+): $22; Students: $10; Youth (17 and under): Free
Museo Italo AmericanoThursdays; first Sunday of the montheveryonenot statednot stated$10
Museum of Craft and DesignFirst Thursday of every month (none in September 2026 due to installation)everyoneno ('No tickets are needed, but visitors can RSVP')yes (SF Museums for All: 4 free passes for Medi-Cal/CalFresh; EBT free)General admission $10.00; Students $8.00; Seniors (65+) $8.00; Children (through age 12) Free
Museum of the African Diaspora (MoAD)Second Saturday of each month (THRIVE @ MoAD Community Day)everyonenot statedyes (free entry for up to 4 per EBT card)Adult Admission $15; Seniors, Students, Educators $7; Youth (under 12) FREE
San Francisco Botanical GardenSecond Tuesday of every month; also daily 7:30–9am; Thanksgiving, Christmas, New Year's Dayeveryonenot statedyes (free for up to four with EBT)not published (free for SF residents, veterans, Museums For All, members; non-resident price only inside date-picker)
San Francisco Zoo & GardensFree days for SF residents on dates announced in the calendar (no fixed recurring day stated)SF residentsnot statedyes (San Francisco Museums for All: $3 for SF residents with EBT/SNAP or Medi-Cal; $5 for non-resident EBT/SNAP)Adult (12-64) $32.00 weekdays / $34.00 weekends & holidays; SF residents $29.00 / $31.00; Seniors $25/$27; Children (2-11) $22/$24; under 2 free
Yerba Buena Center for the ArtsEvery Wednesday (galleries)everyonenot statedyes (free for Medi-Cal and EBT card holders)Galleries: Adult (18+) $10; Students & Seniors $5; Youth (17 and under) Free; Wednesdays Free
7D Ride Experience (PIER 39)None stated—not statednot stated$15 per person; children 12 & under $13
Alcatraz Island (NPS + Alcatraz City Cruises)None statedn/an/anot statedDay Tour: Adults 18+ $47.95; Youth 12-17 $47.95; Seniors 62+ $45.15; Children 5-11 $29.15; under 5 $0. Night Tour adults $59.65
Aquarium of the BayNone statedn/an/ayes ($5 admission, up to four tickets, EBT/SNAP/Medi-Cal)Adult (13-64): $28.25 (online $30.48 incl. 6% web fee; 'Peak pricing on various days'); Child (4-12) $20.25; Senior (65+) $24.25
California Academy of SciencesNone statedn/an/ayes ($5 Daytime Admission for EBT cardholders, max four per group)Adult (19+): $49.00/$55.00 peak; Youth (13–18) $45.00/$49.00 peak; Child (3–12) $39.00/$45.00; Ages 2 and under Free; EBT cardholders $5
Children's Creativity MuseumNone stated—not statedyes$20 for everyone age 1+
Chinese Culture Center of San FranciscoNone stated—not statednot statednot published
Chinese Historical Society of America MuseumNone statedeveryone (annual Bruce Lee day)not statedyes-equivalent: 'EBT and Medi-Cal holders receive $3 museum admission' (program name not used)not published (FAQ: educators pay 'the same as the adult ticket price' but that price is not given; students/seniors/veterans $10; EBT/Medi-Cal $3)
Coit TowerNone statedn/an/anot statedElevator: Adult $8 SF residents / $11 non-residents; Senior (62+) $5/$8; Youth (12-17) $5/$8; Child (5-11) $2/$3; 4 & under free. Ground-floor murals: no fee stated for entry; mural tours $10 / $5
ExploratoriumNone statedn/an/ayes ($5 admission with EBT/SNAP/CalFresh, Medi-Cal, WIC or Lifeline; on site only)Adults (18–64) $39.95; Youth (4–17), Seniors, People with Disabilities, Teachers, Students $29.95; Children (3 & under) Free
Grace CathedralNone stated—not statednot stated$15 (Seniors 65+ $13; ages 12-22 $11; under 12 free)
Haas-Lilienthal HouseNone statedn/an/anot statedGeneral: $10; Children 12 & under: Free
Japanese Tea GardenNone statedeveryoneyes ('All visitors are required to reserve a time slot in advance')yes (free for up to four with EBT)not published (free for SF residents, veterans, Museums For All, members; non-resident price only inside date-picker)
Magowan's Infinite Mirror Maze (PIER 39)None stated—not statednot statednot published (site only quotes customers calling it 'the best $10'; booking widget shows no price before checkout)
Mission Dolores (Old Mission museum)None stated—not statednot statednot published (only a field-trip suggested donation: $10 per adult, $5 per student)
Ripley's Believe It or Not! San FranciscoNone stated—not statednot stated$29.99 per person (Ripley's + Mirror Maze, the only ticket listed)
San Francisco Carousel (PIER 39)None stated—not statednot statednot published (pier39.com shows only a '$' price-level icon)
SFMOMANone statedeveryone (Community Days); up to two adults with a child 18 or younger (Family Days)yes (Family Day tickets released two weeks in advance)yes (SF residents with Medi-Cal/CalFresh/SNAP/EBT)Adult $30; Senior (65+) $25; Students $23; Age 18 and younger Free
SS Jeremiah O'BrienNone statedn/an/anot statedGeneral Admission $20; Senior (62+) $15; Junior (5–12) $10; Children (4 & under) Free; Family $45
Tenderloin MuseumNone stated—not statedyes$10; students & seniors $6; youth 13-21 $6; 12 & under free
USS PampanitoNone statedn/an/anot statedAdults $25 (14-61); Senior $20 (62+); Juniors $15 (5-13); Students $20; Family $65; Kids (4 and under) FREE
Walt Disney Family MuseumNone statedn/an/ayes (San Francisco Museums for All: SF residents with CalFresh/EBT/Medi-Cal, cardholder + three guests)Adults $30; Seniors (65+) $20; Students $20; Youth (6–17) $15; Children (5 & under) FREE

For how well each venue publishes the basics (price, hours, access, directions, child prices), see the Transparency Index. For free events this week, see free things to do today and our free museum days guide.

How We Built This

Sources

  • Each venue’s own website (or its official operator’s). Nothing from third-party lists.

Method

  1. Free-day wording, who qualifies, and whether to reserve are copied from the venue’s own page, and we link to that page.
  2. “Regular free day” means a recurring day or evening that the venue says is free for everyone. Free days only for residents or members are shown in the table but not counted there.
  3. We re-check these every month and update this page.

What This Data Cannot Tell You

  • Venues sometimes cancel a free day for a special exhibition or holiday. Always check the venue’s page for the date you plan to go.
  • “Not stated” means the venue’s site does not say. It does not mean the answer is no.

Found an error? Tell us. Corrections are made on this page and dated in the log below. See our editorial standards.

Download and Cite

The full table is free to reuse under CC BY 4.0. Please credit Project SF and link to this page.

Download the CSV

Project SF (2026). Free Museum Days in San Francisco. Updated . https://projectsf.com/data/sf-free-museum-days/

Embed This Number

Put the live headline figure on your own site. It updates when we do, sets no cookies and tracks nothing. Please keep the link to this page.

<iframe src="https://projectsf.com/embed/data/sf-free-museum-days/" title="Free Museum Days (Project SF)" width="100%" height="210" style="border:1px solid #DAE2EA;border-radius:14px;max-width:420px" loading="lazy"></iframe>

All widgets

Update Log

  • : Monthly re-check: 39 of 40 venues re-checked on their own sites; reservation notes added for the Japanese Tea Garden and the Museum of Performance + Design’s First Saturday; no free days added or dropped.
  • : First published: 40 venues.

Cite this page: Project SF, “Free Museum Days in San Francisco: Every Free Day, Checked Against Each Museum’s Own Site”, projectsf.com/data/sf-free-museum-days/ (updated ).