Project SF is an independent guide to San Francisco. Alongside the guides and the events calendar, we build datasets that answer questions nobody else answers in one place: how many businesses open for every one that closes, which parks are best kept, which places have closed although guides still list them. Every figure comes from a primary source (a city agency’s published data, or a venue’s or organizer’s own website) and every page says where, when and how.
- 9 downloadable datasets
- 668 rows
- 1 live closures tracker
- Latest data:
- CC BY 4.0
The Datasets
Tracker
39
Closed & Moved
places are not where the guides say. Every closure checked by address against the city register, dated and sourced.
What Is Inside Each Dataset
The fields every file carries and three sample rows, so you can see the shape of the data before you download it. Each JSON file has the same columns as its CSV, plus the dataset name, licence, source page and date. The Closed & Moved tracker is a live list rather than a file; every entry is on its page.
Openings & Closings Index
/data/sf-openings-closings-index.json · 41 rows · data as of
One row per city analysis neighborhood: business locations started and ended per year, from the Treasurer's register. Counts only, never names or addresses.
11 fields: neighborhood, started_2025, ended_2025, net_2025, started_per_ended_2025, food_drink_started_2025, food_drink_ended_2025, started_2024, ended_2024, started_2026_to_date, ended_2026_to_date
| neighborhood | started_2025 | ended_2025 | net_2025 | started_per_ended_2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Financial District/South Beach | 1710 | 1157 | 553 | 1.48 |
| Mission | 884 | 618 | 266 | 1.43 |
| South of Market | 586 | 391 | 195 | 1.5 |
Museum & Attraction Transparency Index
/data/sf-attraction-transparency-index.json · 40 rows · data as of
One row per museum or attraction: which of the five basics its own website publishes, with the evidence URL for each.
16 fields: venue, neighborhood, official_url, score_of_5, price_published, hours_published, accessibility_published, getting_there_published, children_published, price_evidence_url, hours_evidence_url, accessibility_evidence_url, getting_there_evidence_url, children_evidence_url, adult_price_as_published, check_date
| venue | score_of_5 | price_published | hours_published | check_date |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 7D Ride Experience (PIER 39) | 5 | yes | yes | 2026-09-18 |
| Alcatraz Island (NPS + Alcatraz City Cruises) | 5 | yes | yes | 2026-09-18 |
| Aquarium of the Bay | 5 | yes | yes | 2026-09-18 |
Free Museum Days
/data/sf-free-museum-days.json · 40 rows · data as of
One row per venue: its free day as the venue publishes it, who qualifies, and whether you need to reserve.
9 fields: venue, free_day_as_published, who, reservation, ebt_medi_cal_discount, library_pass, adult_price_as_published, source_url, check_date
| venue | free_day_as_published | who | reservation | ebt_medi_cal_discount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cable Car Museum | Always free | everyone | no | not stated |
| Fort Point National Historic Site | Always free | everyone | no | not stated |
| Museum of Performance + Design | Always free | — | yes for First Saturday hours ('*Reservations in advance are required'); not stated for Wed/Thu exhibition hours | not stated |
Day-Out Cost Calculator Prices
/data/sf-day-out-cost-calculator.json · 104 rows · data as of
One row per venue and age band: the admission price the venue publishes. A blank price means the venue does not publish one.
10 fields: venue, always_free, band, min_age, max_age, price_usd, resident_price, variable_pricing, price_url, check_date
| venue | band | min_age | max_age | price_usd |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 7D Ride Experience (PIER 39) | Children 12 & under | 0 | 12 | 13.0 |
| 7D Ride Experience (PIER 39) | Per person | 13 | 120 | 15.0 |
| Alcatraz Island (NPS + Alcatraz City Cruises) | Children Under 5 | 0 | 4 | 0.0 |
Every SF Park, Compared
/data/sf-parks-compared.json · 221 rows · data as of
One row per Recreation and Park property: facilities from the city inventory and the city's own maintenance scores.
21 fields: park, type, neighborhood, supervisor_district, acres, address, playgrounds, restrooms, dog_play_areas, tennis_courts, pickleball_courts, basketball_courts, picnic_areas, rec_center, pool, skatepark, community_garden, score_fy2025, score_fy2024, latitude, longitude
| park | neighborhood | playgrounds | dog_play_areas | score_fy2025 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 10th Ave & Clement Park | Inner Richmond | 1 | 0 | 0.98 |
| 15th Avenue Steps | Inner Sunset | 0 | 0 | — |
| 24th & York Mini Park | Mission | 1 | 0 | 0.99 |
Street Fair Calendar
/data/sf-street-fair-calendar.json · 28 rows · data as of
One row per public event with an SFMTA street-closure permit: dates, streets closed and the organizer's page. Private events are never listed.
14 fields: event, category, first_permit_day, last_permit_day, permit_dates, closure_starts, closure_ends, streets, street_segments, organizer_url, price_on_organizer_page, organizer_dates_match_permit, sfmta_case_number, permit_data_as_of
| event | category | first_permit_day | last_permit_day | organizer_dates_match_permit |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Castro Farmers' Market 2026 | Farmers market | 2026-10-28 | 2026-11-18 | yes |
| Mission Community Market 2026 | Farmers market | 2026-10-29 | 2026-11-12 | yes |
| Golden Gate Half Marathon & 5k | Race or ride | 2026-10-30 | 2026-11-01 | yes |
SF Gallery Index
/data/sf-gallery-index.json · 84 rows · data as of
One row per contemporary art gallery: open, moved or closed, since when, the evidence, and what is on now.
16 fields: gallery, neighborhood, address, status, status_since, source_type, status_evidence_url, official_url, hours_published, admission, first_thursday, current_exhibition, exhibition_start, exhibition_end, exhibition_url, check_date
| gallery | neighborhood | status | status_since | check_date |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 111 Minna Gallery | SoMa | open | — | 2026-10-01 |
| 5 Olive Gallery | Tenderloin | open | — | 2026-10-01 |
| 60Six | Dogpatch (Minnesota Street Project) | open | — | 2026-10-01 |
Halloween by the Numbers
/data/sf-halloween-by-the-numbers.json · 18 rows · data as of
One row per city analysis neighborhood: SFMTA-permitted residential street closures (trick-or-treat streets and Halloween block parties) on . Counts only; streets are never listed.
4 fields: analysis_neighborhood, residential_halloween_night_closures, street_segments_closed, permit_data_as_of
| analysis_neighborhood | residential_halloween_night_closures | street_segments_closed | permit_data_as_of |
|---|---|---|---|
| Sunset/Parkside | 7 | 7 | 2026-11-02 |
| Glen Park | 4 | 11 | 2026-11-02 |
| Bernal Heights | 3 | 11 | 2026-11-02 |
Events by Muni
/data/sf-events-muni-access.json · 92 rows · data as of
One row per upcoming event on the Project SF calendar: distance to the nearest Muni stop and BART station, and the Muni lines passing within 400 m. Facts only, no position on any transit measure.
15 fields: event, url, neighborhood, venue, start, end, nearest_muni_stop_m, muni_lines_within_400m, n_muni_lines_within_400m, metro_or_rapid_within_400m, nearest_bart, nearest_bart_m, ends_9pm_or_later, measured_at_spots, data_as_of
| event | neighborhood | nearest_muni_stop_m | n_muni_lines_within_400m | nearest_bart |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Treasures of the Pharaohs | Golden Gate Park | 108 | 6 | 16th Street / Mission |
| Ferry Plaza Farmers Market | Financial District | 74 | 14 | Embarcadero |
| Heart of the City Farmers Market | Hayes Valley | 76 | 20 | Civic Center / UN Plaza |
Machine-readable: every dataset is served as CSV and as JSON at /data/<slug>.json (rows parsed from the CSV, CORS open, CC BY 4.0); the full index with dates and refresh cadence is in llms.txt. Markdown versions (no navigation): /data/index.md and /data/<slug>.md.
Data Changelog
The most recent changes across every dataset, newest first. Each page keeps its own full update log; the same list is available as JSON or RSS.
- : Getting to San Francisco Events on Muni: Stops, Lines and BART Near Every Event - Re-run: 88 of 92 events with a map location within 400 m of a Muni stop.
- : Halloween in San Francisco 2026, by the Numbers: Trick-or-Treat Street Closures and Family Events - Frozen at the final count after Halloween: 35 residential Halloween-night closures in 18 neighborhoods covering 74 street segments, from permits as of . Calendar counts for 1 October to 2 November: 117 events, 87 family events, 67 of them free. The page will not be refreshed again.
- : Getting to San Francisco Events on Muni: Stops, Lines and BART Near Every Event - Re-run: 109 of 113 events with a map location within 400 m of a Muni stop.
- : Halloween in San Francisco 2026, by the Numbers: Trick-or-Treat Street Closures and Family Events - Re-run: 30 residential Halloween-night closures in 15 neighborhoods, from permits as of , unchanged from 12 October. Calendar counts updated: 111 events in the window, 82 family events, 64 of them free.
- : San Francisco Street Fair and Festival Calendar 2026: Every Event With a City Street-Closure Permit - Weekly re-run: permits as of . Past events dropped; no new public events found. 11 events through December.
- : Getting to San Francisco Events on Muni: Stops, Lines and BART Near Every Event - Re-run: 88 of 88 events with a map location within 400 m of a Muni stop.
- : Halloween in San Francisco 2026, by the Numbers: Trick-or-Treat Street Closures and Family Events - Re-run: 30 residential Halloween-night closures in 15 neighborhoods, from permits as of , unchanged from 12 October. Calendar counts updated: 96 events in the window, 71 family events, 55 of them free.
- : Halloween in San Francisco 2026, by the Numbers: Trick-or-Treat Street Closures and Family Events - Re-run: 30 residential Halloween-night closures in 15 neighborhoods, from permits as of . Calendar counts updated. Thrill-O-Ween removed (cancelled by Chase Center); the Ferry Building trick-or-treat is 4-6pm, not 5-7pm; Scaregrove and Boo at the Zoo added.
- : San Francisco Street Fair and Festival Calendar 2026: Every Event With a City Street-Closure Permit - Weekly re-run: permits as of . Past events dropped; new public events: Christmas on Waverly Place, Designers Night Market Showcase and Winter Walk. A private memorial closure is now kept off the list. 18 events through December.
- : Getting to San Francisco Events on Muni: Stops, Lines and BART Near Every Event - Spread-out events (Fleet Week air show and Parade of Ships, Fleet Week ship tours, Fleet Fest, Italian Heritage Parade) are now measured at several spots instead of one, with a spot-by-spot table.
How We Work
- Primary sources only. City open data (DataSF), agency pages, and venues’ and organizers’ own websites. Press is used only to corroborate, and says so.
- Nothing estimated. If a figure is not published, we say “not published”. We never model, infer or fill gaps.
- Dated and re-checked. Each page shows when its data was pulled and keeps an update log. Recurring datasets are re-run on a fixed schedule.
- Corrections in public. When a figure was wrong, we fix it on the page and date the correction.
- Privacy. Data derived from the business register is published as counts, or as business name, neighborhood and date only. Never owners’ names or home addresses.
- Free to reuse. Every dataset has a CSV download under CC BY 4.0. Please credit Project SF and link to the page.
Known Limits
- Published is not the same as offered. The transparency, free-days and price data record what a venue publishes on its own site. A venue may offer more than it says.
- The business register lags. Businesses that close without telling the city stay “open” in it, so the Openings & Closings Index is a floor. That is why closures are checked one by one in the tracker.
- A permit is not a program. The street fair calendar confirms a street is closed on those dates; hours, prices and line-ups come from the organizer and can change.
- Coverage is deliberate. Parks cover Recreation and Park properties only (not the Presidio, GGNRA or Port land); galleries cover contemporary art galleries inside city limits.
- Point in time. Each row carries the date it was checked. Re-download the file the week you use it.
Each dataset page lists its own limits under “What this data cannot tell you”.
Licence and Citation
These datasets are released under Creative Commons Attribution 4.0. You may copy, share and build on them, including commercially, as long as you credit Project SF and link to the dataset page.
Project SF. San Francisco, by the Numbers: Original Data and Tools. https://projectsf.com/data/
Questions, or found an error? Contact us. Read our editorial standards. Reporters and researchers: how to cite this data.
Skip to main content