Thanksgiving 2026 Thanksgiving in San Francisco: what’s open on Thursday, the Turkey Trot and the long weekend → Union Square tree status
Project SFprojectsf.com
Skip to main content
Skip to content

Union Square Great Tree 2026: Lighting Status, Rink, Windows and Muni

Is the Union Square Great Tree lit yet? 2026 status checked 6 November 2026, what is next to it this season, how to get there by BART, cable car and bus, and last year's pattern.

By Bill BelcaminoUpdated November 6, 20266 min read
Illustrated dusk scene of a tall lit holiday tree beside an outdoor ice rink and a lit department store in a city square, with a cable car at the edge of the plaza

Last updated:

Union Square Great Tree 2026

Not lit yet

No 2026 lighting date is published. Checked 6 November 2026 on the Union Square Alliance’s annual events page and home page: neither lists a 2026 date, and a news search found none. This box changes the day the tree is lit.

This page is for one question: is the Union Square tree lit yet, and what is around it if you go? It covers what is next to the tree this season, how to get there and what last year looked like. For every other light in the city, see our San Francisco holiday lights guide.

The Tree at a Glance

Union Square Great Tree, key facts
Fact Detail
Status Not lit yet. Checked 6 November 2026.
Where Union Square, next to Macy’s Union Square (170 O’Farrell Street) and the ice rink at 333 Post Street, near Geary and Powell Streets
Official name Macy’s Great Tree Presented by Ripple, per the Union Square Alliance
Cost to look No ticket is listed for the tree. Unconfirmed Nothing official says whether viewing the tree needs a ticket, and no ticket page exists on the Alliance’s site. Do this: Plan on the plaza being open to walk through; the rink and Winter Walk are separate. Source: Union Square Alliance · Checked 6 November 2026. The ice rink is separate: $22, or $17 for ages 8 and under, skate rental included.
Lit from, and until Not announced for 2026.
Getting there BART to Powell Street Station, a cable car from Powell and Market, or the 38 Geary. Details below.

Tree Facts, as Reported for 2025

The numbers below describe last year’s tree. We show them so you know what to expect, and we label them until an official 2026 figure appears.

Tree facts, as reported for the 2025 tree
Fact Reported Status
Height More than 83 feet Unconfirmed These figures are reported for the 2025 tree by Funcheap SF and local news. No official page we read gives 2026 numbers. Do this: Check Macy’s or the Union Square Alliance once the 2026 lighting is announced. Source: Union Square Alliance annual events · Checked 6 November 2026.
Lights 43,000 LED lights Same as above
Ornaments 700 Same as above
Which year The 36th annual lighting (2025) Same as above

What Is Around It This Season

  • Safeway Ice Rink, 333 Post Street

    4 Nov 2026 – 18 Jan 2027. Hour-long sessions start every 90 minutes.

    Cost: $22; $17 for ages 8 and under; skate rental included

    Checked on the rink’s own site, 6 November 2026. It names Drag On Ice, Silent Skate and Polar Bear Skate but lists no 2026 dates for them (our Polar Bear Skate page has its date). Unconfirmed The rink’s page now says only that hour-long sessions start every 90 minutes. We could not re-confirm the earlier 10am to 11pm daily hours. Do this: Call (415) 295-1588 or check the rink’s site before you go. Source: Union Square ice rink · Checked 6 November 2026.

  • Macy’s and SF SPCA Holiday Windows, Macy’s Union Square

    20 Nov – 31 Dec 2026, Wednesday to Sunday, noon to 5pm. Macy’s is closed 26 Nov and 25 Dec.

    Cost: Not stated

    Confirmed. Last checked 12 October 2026 (the SF SPCA’s 40th-year release).

  • Free Plaza Programs

    Daily amenities from 4 Nov, 10am to 6pm: Kids Zone, recess cart, big games. Winter crafts on select Thursdays to Sundays, 5 Nov – 17 Jan (Thu and Fri 3–6pm, Sat and Sun 11am–2pm).

    Cost: Free

    Checked on the Alliance’s park programs page, 6 November 2026. The plaza was closed 21 Oct – 3 Nov for the rink load-in. The schedule can change.

  • Ornament Trail

    6 – 24 Dec, daily 11am to 6pm. Pick up the guide at the Powell and Market cable car turnaround and find 11 ornaments.

    Cost: Free

    Unconfirmed The Ornament Trail page says December 6 to 24, daily 11am to 6pm, with no year. The Alliance has not announced 2026 dates. Do this: Check the Alliance’s Ornament Trail page before you go. Source: Union Square Alliance · Checked 6 November 2026.

  • Bill Graham Menorah

    Chanukah in Union Square, 4 – 11 Dec. First lighting Friday 4 Dec; Menorah Day Sunday 6 Dec.

    Cost: Not stated

    Unconfirmed The Menorah’s own site lists Chanukah in Union Square on December 4 to 11 with no year. Friday 4 December and Sunday 6 December fit 2026. Do this: Check the Menorah’s own site for times before you go. Source: Bill Graham Menorah · Checked 6 November 2026.

  • Winter Walk, Stockton Street

    Two blocks of Stockton Street become a holiday market. Last year it ran 13 – 24 December, 11am to 7pm Monday to Wednesday and 11am to 9pm Thursday to Sunday.

    Cost: Free to walk through

    Unconfirmed The Alliance’s news item says Winter Walk returns December 13 to 24 but prints no year, and the same dates ran in 2025. No 2026 dates are announced. Do this: Check the Alliance’s Winter Walk page before you plan around these dates. Source: Union Square Alliance · Checked 6 November 2026.

A Short Evening Plan

  1. Afternoon. See the Macy’s and SF SPCA windows before 5pm (Wednesday to Sunday), then let the kids use the free plaza games, open until 6pm.
  2. Dusk. Look at the tree from across the plaza, with the rink in front and Macy’s behind it. Book a rink session if you want to skate (sessions start every 90 minutes).
  3. After dark. Ride a Powell cable car from Powell and Market, or walk Maiden Lane, where the Alliance’s visitor guide mentions light installations. From 13 December, check Winter Walk on Stockton Street.

Photo spots, our suggestions and not an official list: the plaza edge opposite the rink for the tree and Macy’s in one frame; the Powell and Market turnaround for cable cars; Maiden Lane for its light installations. Go close to dusk, when the sky is still blue.

Getting There

  • BART: Powell Street Station, 899 Market Street. BART’s station page says it sits near the cable cars and Union Square. (BART, read 6 November 2026)
  • Cable cars: the Powell/Hyde and Powell/Mason lines both start at Powell and Market. SFMTA says you must buy your fare before boarding at Powell and Market (it says this applies from 8am to 8pm daily). See SFMTA cable cars and our cable car guide.
  • Bus: the 38 Geary runs 24 hours. Heading outbound it stops at Geary and Kearny, Geary and Stockton and Geary and Powell; inbound it uses O’Farrell Street, with stops near Powell and Grant. (SFMTA 38 Geary, read 6 November 2026)
  • Lighting night: SFMTA has posted no 2026 changes. For the Friday-after-Thanksgiving lighting in 2018, its notice said the 2, 3, 38 and 38R would reroute near the event and the Powell cable cars would run as bus shuttles. That is a past notice, not a 2026 plan. Unconfirmed No Muni reroutes or cable car changes are posted for a 2026 lighting. Do this: Check SFMTA’s travel updates on the day. Source: SFMTA travel updates · Checked 6 November 2026.
  • Driving: Unconfirmed We have not confirmed garage prices or holiday parking-meter rules for Union Square. Do this: Take BART, Muni or a cable car, or check SFMTA’s parking pages and the garage’s own page. Source: SFMTA parking meters.

More: our Muni and BART guide to events and the Muni one-pager.

What Past Years Looked Like

This is last year’s pattern, not a promise for 2026. The lighting has not always happened on the same day or in the same way.

What past years looked like (not 2026)
Year What happened Status
2025 The Alliance’s 2025 holiday release lists the tree as lit from 11 November to 19 January. Funcheap SF says the lighting was quiet that day. Local TV described a lighting with the mayor on a Monday evening. Unconfirmed Reports disagree on whether there was a ceremony and on the lighting day. Do this: Check the Alliance’s calendar for 2026 details. Source: Union Square Alliance · Checked 6 November 2026.
2018 SFMTA’s notice put the lighting on Friday 23 November at 6pm, the Friday after Thanksgiving, with a Winter Walk the same weekend. SFMTA notice, 21 Nov 2018

More Holiday Guides

Also this season: Thanksgiving in San Francisco, the SF Ballet Nutcracker and New Year’s Eve fireworks. Skating, shows and light displays all run on the December calendar.

Sources, all read on 6 November 2026: Union Square Alliance, annual events, park programs, Union Square ice rink, SFMTA, BART, Bill Graham Menorah and the SF SPCA.

Update history

6 November 2026: page created. Read the Union Square Alliance annual events, home and park programs pages, the rink’s own site, SFMTA’s travel updates and 38 Geary pages, BART’s Powell Street page and the Menorah’s own site. No 2026 Great Tree date was published on any of them.

Questions People Ask About Union Square Great Tree 2026: Lighting Status, Rink, Windows and Muni

When is the Union Square tree lighting in 2026?

No date is announced. The Union Square Alliance's pages list no 2026 date for the Great Tree (checked 6 November 2026). This page shows the status at the top and changes the day the tree is lit.

Is the Union Square Christmas tree free to see?

No ticket is listed for the tree. The ice rink next to it is separate: $22, or $17 for ages 8 and under, skate rental included. Check the Alliance's pages if that changes.

Where is the Union Square Great Tree?

In Union Square, next to Macy's Union Square at 170 O'Farrell Street and the ice rink at 333 Post Street, near Geary and Powell Streets.

How tall is the Union Square tree?

Reports for the 2025 tree say more than 83 feet, with 43,000 LED lights and 700 ornaments. Those figures are not confirmed on an official page for 2026.

How do I get to the Union Square tree by Muni or BART?

Take BART to Powell Street Station, ride a Powell cable car from Powell and Market, or take the 38 Geary, which stops near Geary and Powell. SFMTA has posted no 2026 lighting-night changes.

Is the Union Square ice rink open?

The Safeway ice rink is open daily from 4 November 2026 to 18 January 2027 at 333 Post Street. Hour-long sessions start every 90 minutes. Admission is $22, or $17 for ages 8 and under, with skate rental included.

How long does the Union Square tree stay up?

The 2026 end date is not announced. The Alliance's 2025 holiday release listed the tree as lit from 11 November to 19 January.

When does Winter Walk start?

The Alliance says Winter Walk returns on December 13 to 24 but prints no year, so treat the dates as unconfirmed until the Alliance posts 2026 details.

More to Explore

Happening Soon

Places to Check Out

Cite this page: Project SF, “Union Square Great Tree 2026: Lighting Status, Rink, Windows and Muni”, projectsf.com/guides/union-square-great-tree-san-francisco/ (updated ).

Print / Save As PDF

Printed from projectsf.com on . Hours, prices and dates can change, so check with the venue before you go.